In Which I Read Some Meh Books (and re-read a favorite)

I very eagerly started The Goblin Emperor by Kathleen Addison only to DNF it. It was the political intrigues! Apparently, I am not one for endless court politics. They bore me to tears. I liked . . . erm, I don’t remember our protagonist’s name? I liked the untenable position he found himself in, and his struggle for legitimacy while staying true to who he is, but when I found myself at the half-way mark, and realized that the reason for my reaching that half-way mark was the skipping of dozens of paragraphs in between pages, I knew it was time to return the book rather than continue persevering. I was also held back by the sheer number of characters and the abundance of consonants in their names. I kept forgetting who was who, and having to constantly turn to the index at the end to look them all up took a toll. Have any of you read it? Did you enjoy it?

The Vor Game by Lois Mcmaster Bujold was next. And it was nice, though it’s of a slightly different mien than The Warrior’s Apprentice. It has space hi-jinks, and Miles getting caught in impossible situations, but it was different in feel than TWA. TWA introduced Miles, in TVG we see his development as a lowly officer in the emperor’s army. (And since lowly and Miles do not go together, fireworks ensue). An essential part of Miles’s character that comes across very clearly in this book is his desire to be a part of, and to serve Barrayar. I’ve been wondering about this. Why does he yearn for this so much? Why not move to his mother’s home planet? Or somewhere else? Is it because of his father’s legacy? I’m interested in seeing what Bujold has in store for him through the course of the series.

Edith Layton’s The Duke’s Wager was next, and I didn’t really enjoy it. I’m not one for much angst in my reading and this one while not being angsty, was much too emotionally fraught. I never got around to caring much for any of the characters either. The heroine was the kind of ingénue who I want to shake, and slap, rather than be amused by, and the reasons behind the two anti-heroes’ dissoluteness felt too pointless for me to buy into it (though come to think of it while Layton makes a creditable attempt to give some backstory to Jason, Sinjun’s dissipation is never really explained at all). The culmination of Regina’s and Jason’s character arc to such a point where the two’s coming together feels authentic is very well done though.

I also finally gave in and re-read Georgette Heyer’s Frederica, rather than storing it for a “rainy day.” I want to write a longer post on this one later but along with The Unknown Ajax, this is probably my favorite Heyer. Although both have such different settings, and heroes, the one thing in common between them is the humor! The banter between Alverstoke, and Frederica just slays me! Slays me, I tell you! (And then there’s Felix, and Jessamy, and Lufra, but I’ll reserve them for the longer post).

So what have you been reading friends? Any spectacular meh-s (or stand-outs) in your reading pile recently?

10 thoughts on “In Which I Read Some Meh Books (and re-read a favorite)

  1. The endless intrigue in The Goblin Emperor delighted me, even though I did think that the author went with the intrigue plots over developing the characters or exploring their emotional arcs. But still, the intrigue itself worked great for me.

    Everyone’s been recommending Bujold to me lately! I gotta get on that!

    Like

    • Ha–you were the first person to come to my mind when Jeanne mentioned folks enjoying the intrigues too! 😛 Ahh, well! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      And I’m loving the Vorsokigan saga so far! I’d be very interested in knowing what you think/feel about it!

      Like

  2. So I saw the Heyer bit and promptly zeroed in on it…because Frederica is my all time, bar none, (not even Devil’s Club or The Grand Sophy, Sylvester, or Arabella – though Venetia comes close), absolute FAVOURITE of Heyer’s books….and even thought I ‘like’ the others – for some reason Frederica absolutely GRABS me and doesn’t let go. The banter. The characters. The pets. If I was accidentally transported into a regency novel, Frederica is EXACTLY the person I would want to be.
    And she and Alverstoke are the perfect match.
    I die.
    Do they make Alverstoke’s somewhere?
    Because I would like one. Please and thank you.

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

That’s what I’m thinking. I’d love to know *your* thoughts!

