A No-Point List

The Book That Was On Hold The Longest In My Library List Before I Unfroze It: The Warrior’s Apprentice by Lois McMaster Bujold (I put it on hold in March, froze it, and then unfroze it in December. I loved it by the way in case you’re wondering)

The Book That I’m Still Not Sure I Can Articulate Properly About: The Argonauts because I  loved reading a “mainstream” book that articulated so much of what I think-feel, especially its focus on joy (or what I felt was one of its focus anyway).

The Book That Introduced Me to My New Comfort Author: The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, And A Very Interesting Boy by Jeanne Birdsall

The Author That I AM GLAD WROTE SO MANY BOOKS: Betty Neels (also known as one of my comfort read authors)

The Poetry Book That I Inhaled In One Sitting: Felicity by Mary Oliver (it’s only 96 pages long!)

The One Book That I Wish Was in Print so that I COULD BUY IT!: Cherry Cake & Ginger Beer by Jane Brocket

The Book That I Am So Glad Was Written: The Long Way To A Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

The Book That I Never Expected to Read: Poetics of Reverie by Gaston Bachelard (Still on the first chapter. I read only a few pages at a time, and only when I’m in the mood for it. But holy hell, some of the bits make me yelp out loud because it is SO ME!)

The Book I Was Looking Forward to Reading The Most and Left Mid-Way: Middlemarch by George Eliot. Life happened to this one. I still plan on picking it up at some point of time.

The Book I HAD TO LOOK UP THE END OF (NOT my modus operandi): Too Like The Lightning by Ada Palmer. Cliff-hanger ending! So decided to leave the book unfinished, and come back to it after the second in the series is released in February. BUT. I had ALL THE FEELS about the almost one-third that I DID manage to finish.

And, my biggest readerly realization this year: to be cognizant of the fact that another’s response to a book, and the book itself are two very distinct things. And so even though I might enjoy what someone else thinks-feels about a book, I myself might not enjoy the book in question, because, well, I am me. With my own interests, beliefs, background, and all the stuff that makes up who I am. Sounds obvious when I think about it but this has been an important realization for me as a reader to come to this year!

So that’s my no-point list for 2016! As always, I don’t think I have any specific reading goals for the coming year except the general intention to read things that bring comfort, joy, and expand the way I think of, and relate to the world around me! Hopefully, some times, I will also manage to find the happy marriage of all three!

12 thoughts on “A No-Point List

  1. I screamed happily about you checking the ending of a book, even if it has not changed your mind re: your reading SOP. But just so you know, there are many A+ reasons to read the end of books, and discovering whether the book ends on a cliffhanger is but one of them. #evangelising

    Liked by 1 person

    • If there were an award for best comments, I’d give it to you! I always get this sense that you hone in on one aspect of a post that you like, and simply choose to respond to THAT! 😀

      And yes, I shall keep an open mind about reading the end. 😛

      Like

  2. I like your take on the End of the Year Post. I want to thank you for spearheading the Middlemarch readalong and making me reread it – it was such a wonderful experience and I know I wouldn’t have done it on my own. Happy New Year!

    Like

    • Thank you! And you and Valancy are the ones who deserve all the accolades! I’m so glad you enjoyed it!

      I’ve been enjoying your recent posts, especially the one on food and body! Happy New Year to you too Laila!

      Like

  3. Great overview of 2016! Heh I am also glad a few of my fave writers are so prolific, can rely on always having another one of I need comfort.
    Btw if you Love The Penderwicks I recommend One Crazy Summer and its sequel, if you haven’t read them yet. Wishing you a Happy 2016🎉😊

    Like

  4. My no point thoughts (which I ended up numbering in a point-like fashion…)
    1) What a fabulous list!
    2) I finished Shards of Honor and really liked it and am currently 1/3 way through Warriors Apprentice – it is SO good – thank you for recommending it to me!
    3) Middlemarch – I am so glad you organised the read-a-long, I feel virtuous (and a little smug) everytime I remember I have read it ALL the way through (!)
    4) Super important point re not always liking a book, even if you like what other people thought about it – I completely agree – although often I will read a book (even if I don’t really like it that much), simply to see/read/understand the points someone else found or discovered through their reading experience.

    There. I have admitted it. I am completely nosy.

    5) Betty Neels. BETTY NEELS. There is no need for further words #kindredneelsspiritsunite…
    6) ahem. I am a end-of-book-checker. NOT all the time, but if I start getting worried about cliff hangers (HATE) or wondering if it is going to work out well…I will check. And if it is a cliffhanger? I will DNF….

    /no point list

    Happy New Year!
    ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh! Ooh! love that you’re enjoying the Bujold! BUT BUT—did you not read Barrayar? Not that that’s a problem but in the internal chronology of the series, Barrayar takes place after Shards and before Warrior’s Apprentice even though I think it was the 8th book that Bujold published! You see Aral’s and Cordelia’s relationship flesh out some more, and the events there will help you make sense of some of the stuff in Warrior’s Apprentice more (though again, Warrior’s Apprentice stands on its own too).

      The seamless transition between Shards and Barrayar, and between Barrayar and Apprentice makes it difficult to believe that Barrayar was the 8th book that Bujold released! Makes me wonder how far ahead she’d already plotted before she began writing the series! Anyhoo, I am so glad you’re enjoying the saga of the Vorsokigans! (I’m waiting for The Vor Game to come through the library!)

      I love what you said about reading anyway to understand what the other sees. Yes to that! I think for me I’d begun taking it as some sort of statement on me and who I am if I didn’t find the same things in the book as another did—so in that context that realization helped restore some balance for me!

      And you’re allowed to feel all the smugs you want about Middlemarch! 😀 I’ve still not finished it and am already considering beginning with one of Anthony Trollope’s sagas! 😛

      Betty Neels—I recently finished The Vicar’s Daughter. (It’s funny, I take weeks to finish one Neels!) I loved it! Have you read it? Might write a few points about it later on.

      End-of-Book checker: I’m with you! Those are the very reasons I check too! 😛

      All the bestest year-ish wishes and greetings to you too!

      Like

      • *face palm* ok -so goodreads have a publication chronology and an internal chronology – and guess which one I ended following????

        Ridonkulous.
        I have missed out Dreamweaver’s Dilemma and Falling Free – which I am going to go back and read plus the famed Barrayar – I now have so much catching up to do! Which is nice but also slightly tiresome…

        *mutter mutter* stupid goodreads *mutter mutter*

        Like

That’s what I’m thinking. I’d love to know *your* thoughts!

