Super Mini Review: Uprooted by Naomi Novik

I loved the first half, and while on-the-edge-of-my-seat for the second half, didn’t really enjoy it that much.

All my favorite bits were in the first half, especially the magic, the description and workings of which I loved! I’m referring to Agnieszka’s brand of magic here by the way. I just loved, loved the way she “feels” her way to magic—and how the instructions that make sense to her seem to be vague, kind-of, sort-of pointing towards the destination, but letting the way to that destination to be one of her own making. If I were a witch, this is EXACTLY how I would go about it too! Just sayin’!

I also very much enjoyed how Agnieszka’s intuitive approach when combined with the Dragon’s more logical approach leads to more! Yes! I wish All The Birds in the Sky had done something like this right from the start rather than making a message out of it at the end!

As for the second half, I quote LizMc2 whose thoughts about this book have an eerie similarity to mine! “It’s like super hero movies: I like the origin story/discover your powers part, and then it’s all giant special effects action scenes and I get bored.” Yep, the second half was one mad rush of action, and while not bad, wasn’t as good as the first half. Plus, I found the story ended on a note of whimper for me. The whole “evil wood queen” genesis story felt weak, and unconvincing.

On the whole, I have to agree with LizMc2, The Princess Curse was just more satisfying!

8 thoughts on “Super Mini Review: Uprooted by Naomi Novik

  1. Super Mini Thoughts: I totes agree! 😛

    I felt exactly the same way the whole time I read this. But I loved the magic-logic – it kind of felt like I was learning right along with Agnieszka, and the world-building was pretty awesome – like familiar and yet not, all at the same time…

    It was still good…But there is still that B.U.T (!)

    Like

  2. Hahahaha, I liked Uprooted a lot but I didn’t think it was quite as amazing as some people did. It reminded me of Howl’s Moving Castle a little bit, which made me feel fond of it. Can you see it? The Howl/Sophie dynamic? Yes, right?

    Like

That’s what I’m thinking. I’d love to know *your* thoughts!

