Hello!

I’ve been AWOL for a while, and that state of affairs might very well continue for some time—and yes, this is happening while we’re in the middle of a Middlemarch readalong which I am supposed to be hosting! A proper hostess, I shall not make, it appears. BUT I am so, so SO appreciative of both Laila and Valancy who have continued to read and post their reviews despite my AWOL-ness! I love thinking that maybe that’s because they’re both enjoying the book too much to let anything interfere with it! THANK YOU BOTH SO MUCH!

You can read their reviews of Book 4, Three Love Problems and Book 5, The Dead Hand at the following links:

Valancy
Book 4
Book 5

Laila
Book 4
Book 5

As for me, things have been really busy offline. Happily so, I might add! I’ve hosted family and friends, visited the west coast (I live on the east), driven to Niagara Falls and back, attended a friend’s wedding in another state, discussed some big life changes with husband, and all of these since just my last post! To be honest, I’m just not feeling like reading/writing that much these days.

I’m still continuing with Middlemarch and hope to write a little bit about that even though I am way behind the schedule. I’m just about to finish book 4 even though by this time I was supposed to be nearing the end of book 6! The funny thing is that I kind of don’t mind this “falling behind-ness,” you know? This break feels right.

I also finished a category romance that I LOVED, Shanon Kendrick’s The Greek’s Marriage Bargain (thanks Sunita for the recommendation!), a historical romance that I didn’t (Elizabeth Hoyt’s The Leopard Prince—I had such high hopes for it but it felt. . . too. . . over-the-top-ish to me), and that’s about it.

I have returned most of the library books, and put all my holds on freeze for the near future. Basically, I don’t have any reading plans for the next few weeks, and I’m quite ok with that! I LIKE this ebb and flow!

What about you guys? I’m sure you must have had/have your phases too, don’t you? What phase are you in right now? Do you have any specific plans in the offing? I’d love to know!

7 thoughts on “Hello!

  1. Juhi! I’m so glad to see you back. I was missing your posts. But I do understand about being busy and wanting to take a break. I AM loving Middlemarch! Thank you so much for being the prompt to reread this. I probably wouldn’t have committed to it without the readalong!

    I am doing the 20 Books of Summer hosted by Cathy at 746 Books. I’m only doing 10, though, so that I can finish Middlemarch and sneak in some free-range reading too!

    I hope life is good for you and that you enjoy your break from planned reading.

    Like

    • thank you so much for checking in, Laila! And for your good wishes! I really like how you re-purposed the 20 books into what suits you, specifically! And I am so, so glad that I was one of the links in helping you re-read and enjoy Middlemarch!

      I think for me, right now, I’m gravitating towards my first love–romance, though now that I think of it, what I MOSTLY want are stories that bring comfort and pleasure, rather than stimulation and expansion–not that those two are mutually exclusive, just that I want more of the first than the second in this moment.

      Wishing you the most enjoyable of times with your list of 10, and whatever else you feel like squeezing in!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Juhi, I identify with what you’re saying. I struggle sometimes with reading purely fun books – feeling “guilty” about reading them over books I know are “important” and perhaps enlightening. Which I consciously know is ridiculous – we should read what we want to read, and there is room for both kinds in life. Anyway. I will eagerly read any post you decide to write about romance or any other book you choose to write about!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. So glad you’re back!!!

    And by-the-by shizzle is GOING DOWN in middlemarch (albeit in a slow-moving and deliberate way) but it is a little riveting nonetheless – I am bout halfway through book VI so we shall see what happens!

    Completely agree re the ebbing and flowing of reading – it’s so interesting how that happens isn’t it? The same with what TYPE of book I feel like reading too – things that comfort are so important!

    Have missed your posts (and the adding of books to my tbr… ;))

    Like

    • Ok, you’ve made me want to speed up to see WHAT ALL THE SHIZZLE IS ALL ABOUT!!!

      and yeah, ebb and flow is so important, I think. The variety keeps things interesting, and one feeds into and nourishes the other, doesn’t it?

      And oh I so appreciate the sentiment. . . makes me feel like I have FRIENDS ON THE INTERNET! 🙂 thank you! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. HI THERE HOW ARE YOU!! I don’t have any huge reading plans for the next couple of weeks — unless you’re defining huge by how many books I plan to read, which is ALL OF THEM — but I am trying to finish up a mountain of library books before they fall due. I bit off more than I can chew. I returned at least ten books to the library today and last Friday, and I still have so many more that I haven’t even started yet. Due dates, eek!

    Like

    • OH, HI JENNY!!!! 😀 So good to see your “face!”

      And oh, due dates! Here’s wishing you strength, coffee/beverage of your choice, and whatever else you need to help you read ALL OF THEM!

      I also can’t help resenting all the folks who put the books I want on hold and thus prevent me from renewing the said book again, and again, and again!

      Like

That’s what I’m thinking. I’d love to know *your* thoughts!

