Middlemarch Readalong: Check-in 2

I hope everyone’s still reading along! I’ve still got about 1/3rd of the way to go for Book 2! So far Book 2 seems to be about Lydgate (with a little bit of Fred Vincy thrown in) and is it just me or does Lydgate seem like Dorothea’s masculine counterpart to you guys too?! In his zest, and his zeal, he reminds me SO MUCH OF MISS BROOKE!!!

I’m sure I’m over generalizing but I can’t help thinking that Middlemarch seems to be peopled with types of characters. So far, we have—

Mr. Bulstrode, who’s (apparently!) the fervent, religious type
Mr. Lydgate, who’s our science man
Mr. Vincy, for whom trade and commerce and money is what defines everything else
Fred Vincy, who looks to be the representation of the idle, young gentleman
Rosamond, who’s the picture of traditional womanliness

Did anyone else notice this typ-iness too?

And do you guys have any favorite quotes so far? Here’s two that I enjoyed a lot:

One’s self-appreciation is an untaxed kind of property which it is very unpleasant to find depreciated.

~*~

Our passions do not live apart in locked chambers, but, dressed in their small wardrobe of notions, bring their provisions to a common table and mess together, feeding out of the common store according to their appetite.

One thought on “Middlemarch Readalong: Check-in 2

  1. My Favourite quote so far:

    ‘When a conversation has taken a wrong turn for us, we only get farther and farther into the swamp of awkwardness. This was what Fred Vincy felt.’

    SWAMP of awkwardness – LOL.

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

That’s what I’m thinking. I’d love to know *your* thoughts!

