Sunday Poetry

It’s been a strange week reading-wise. I find myself unable to read through a lot of the books that I am in the middle of. Instead, I find myself turning more and more to non-fiction and poetry. Here are some lines that especially spoke to me.

1.
I just discovered Fernando Pessoa (through the marvelous Shawna Lemay of calmthings) but oh, his poetry gives shapes to things inside me.

I have no ambitions and no desires.
To be a poet is not my ambition,
It’s my way of being alone.

~ from The Keeper of Sheep, Fernando Pessoa & Co., translated by Richard Zenith

(only, I would change “alone” to “being on my own”)

2.
sun and stonesYet my sadness is a comfort
For it is natural and right
And is what should fill the soul
Whenever it thinks it exists
And doesn’t notice the hands picking flowers.

~ from The Keeper of Sheep, Fernando Pessoa & Co., translated by Richard Zenith

3.
Do Not Make Wrong What You Do
© Juhi @ Nooks & Crannies

Do Not Make Wrong What You Do
Let Yourself Off the Hook
I shall begin
by leaving this poem
dangling
and
unfinished

~ juhi @ nooks and crannies

9 thoughts on “Sunday Poetry

  1. I loved yours and your second choice too, but I find the repetition of “ambition/s’ a bit uncomfortable, perhaps because it’s out of context. To keep the sense but without the bumpy ride I might have used a single syllabic word like “aim” or “goal” — the first keeps the alliteration, the second the vowel echo of “alone”. Thoughtful selections all, thanks Juhi.

    Like

    • Ha! I wondered if removing the first line all together would make it more effective! The repetition put me off too. At least initially! Then the last line just carried me over!

      Thank you so much for kind words Chris. I really appreciate it!

      Like

That’s what I’m thinking. I’d love to know *your* thoughts!

