Talking Through A Post Comprised of Bullet Points (NYPL, Neil Gaiman, Cecilia Grant, Charles Yu & David Whyte)

1.

Schwarzman Building - NYPL

Schwarzman Building – NYPL
Credits: Juhi @ Nooks & Crannies

So the relative silence was due to some upheavals in my life. I’m now a baby New Yorker and so far I’m in love with the city. One of the best things it has to offer? The New York Public Library! Where one can borrow up to 50 books at a time. And from where I always borrow more books than I can possibly read at any given time. Which leads to the pleasurable task of deciding which book to renew and which to finish right away. And oh of course, the putting of books on hold and then checking up on them to track their progress as they make their way to me! As you can see, all momentous tasks that I have to tend to with utmost gravity and precision.

The NYPL also includes the gorgeous Schwarzman building with its two majestic lions, Patience and Fortitude, guarding the entrance to the hallowed world within. The marble halls, the intricate woodwork and the hand-painted mural ceilings are a sight to behold. I am in awe of there being a public space of such beauty.

2.

I finally read Neil Gaiman. The Graveyard Book to be precise. At first, I couldn’t figure out what the big deal was – most likely because my childhood was tethered to the adventure stories and mystery tales of Enid Blyton sans ghostly fables that took off on flights of imagination and otherworldliness.

I couldn’t connect to the tale emotionally. The whole premise was too alien and I was not really interested in finding out why Jack wanted to kill Nobody Owens. Or who the mysterious Silas was. And yet, halfway through the story I looked up and discovered that I had become so engrossed that it was past the time to get back to my chores. Something had clicked. The strangeness of it all was suddenly not so, well, strange anymore – I was vested in Nobody Owens’s future and wanted him to be safe and happy. All this to say that yes I want to try out more Neil Gaiman. And will include him in the list of authors-my children-have-to-read. (Yes, I have such a list).

  1. I also read Cecilia Grant’s A Lady Awakened and quite enjoyed it. Like the hype about Mr Gaiman, I see why the romance reading community has made such brouhaha over this author.

  2. Part science manual, part a meditation on memory, and part an exploration of a father-son relationship, How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe  is the other book that I read and I have decidedly mixed feelings about it. Mr. Charles Yu sure loves words and sentences–some of which went on for more than a paragraph. The story takes place in a universe where time travelling has been invented and as the narrator tells us almost everyone chooses to travel back to his or her worst day, hoping to redo it and start all over even though they can’t really. I found this particular facet thought provoking. It left me wondering if Mr Yu’s fiction has any basis of reality to it. Is that what we would really do? Given such a choice would we really go back to the days that housed all our regrets and mistakes instead of visiting those that had our most treasured memories? While I cannot know what posterity will choose I can certainly hope that it will be the latter.

Mr Yu’s musings on memory being a vehicle for time travelling which makes time travellers of all of us was certainly lovely. If the story had not been jettisoned into a hasty and not-properly-resolved ending and had had less ramblings (the pitfall of first person narratives I guess) I might have enjoyed the book more.

5.

Currently Reading – The Three Marriages by David Whyte. His discussion on work, relationship with your significant other and spirituality being the three marriages of an individual’s life as opposed to just the one that we normally think of is unique, interesting and will hopefully give me a new way of thinking about my own life.

Here’s Whyte, on the three marriages:

These are the three marriages, of Work, Self and Other.

A word on this word marriage: Despite our use of the word only for a committed relationship between two people, in reality this book looks at the way everyone is committed, consciously or unconsciously, to three marriages. There is that first marriage, the one we usually mean, to another; that second marriage, which can so often seem like a burden, to a work or vocation; and that third and most likely hidden marriage to a core conversation inside ourselves. We can call these three separate commitments marriages because at their core they are usually lifelong commitments and, as I wish to illustrate, they involve vows made either consciously or unconsciously.

And here’s a bit that I really liked:

Work is a constant conversation. It is the back-and-forth between what I think is me and what I think is not me; it is the edge between what the world needs of me and what I need of the world. Like the person to whom I am committed in a relationship, it is constantly changing and surprising me by its demands and needs but also by where it leads me, how much it teaches me, and especially, by how much tact, patience and maturity it demands of me.

2 thoughts on “Talking Through A Post Comprised of Bullet Points (NYPL, Neil Gaiman, Cecilia Grant, Charles Yu & David Whyte)

    • Yeah, and it was sort of serendipitous – I hadn’t been looking for any of his books. It was just sort of lying there on one of those movable trolleys which the librarians use to put the books back in their proper places and I went, Oh wait there’s Neil Gaiman! Let’s try him out!

      Anyway, I’ll try out Coraline and Neverwhere next.

      Thanks so much for visiting!

      Like

That’s what I’m thinking. I’d love to know *your* thoughts!

