Quick & Snappy

It’s another year! A Happy Happy 2013 everyone! To quote Dag Hammarskjöld, “For all that has been — Thanks. For all that shall be — Yes.”

Kindle Paperwhite Anyone?

As I’ve told my husband his gift to me this Valentine’s Day shall be the Kindle Paperwhite! I AM interested in user feedback before the purchase though – what has been your experience if you’re using it?

While I love e-ink which is easy on the eyes I HAVE found myself wishing for a backlit screen for all the times when everyone else is fast asleep and I’m snuggled in and too cozy to move elsewhere!

Reading & Writing Resolutions

I don’t really have any except to whittle down my TBR, and inflate it at the same rate.  And of course to write more and more.

These Last Few Weeks

These Old Shades by Georgette Heyer: A delightful romp despite the implausibility of a heroine who is perpetually perky, a few character turnabouts a little hard to believe in, a 20 year old age difference between the hero and the heroine and the general omniscience of the hero.

Graceling by Kristin Cashore: Another rave-review getter which turned out to be ok-ish for me. The characters and the plot line were somewhat simplistic; they lacked the layers for me to sink my teeth into despite Kristin Cashore touching on some tough-world issues in the book. The overall tone was a little juvenile for me – which considering that Graceling is marketed as a YA novel is something that I should not be complaining about I guess! Oh, well.

The Snow Child by Eown Ivey – Review to come. On the whole, I enjoyed it!

Coming Up Next (reading-wise). Hopefully.

The Chocolate Kiss – Laura Florand
Brownies & Broomsticks – Baily Cates
Tell the Wolves I’m Home – Carol Rifka Brunt

No fantasy for the time being. The very thought of fantasy brings up that sickly sweet feeling that one gets after gorging on too much sugar!

2 thoughts on “Quick & Snappy

  1. Happy, happy New Year!! The best thing about new year for me is that reading resolutions feel so fresh and exciting. Even if I know in my heart I won’t get them all achieved, it’s at least fun to try. Good luck with yours! 🙂

    Like

That’s what I’m thinking. I’d love to know *your* thoughts!

