The Liebster Award

Image from: http://www.amylynnwentz.com/2012/10/the-liebster-award.html

The Leibster Award

I think this month long break from writing while I was busy getting married has rendered my pegging-thoughts-on-to-the-right-words skill a little rusty. I’ve been trying to pin down the long overdue review of Among Others but every word that blinks into existence on my computer screen feels colourless. So to ease back into the whole process of gathering my thoughts, structuring them and clothing them with the right words I’ve decided to have a go at the questions that Litlove so kindly tagged me with. I’ve just read up on the Leibster award and I feel honoured that someone I really look up to decided to tag me with this award alongwith Miss Darcy, Desperate Reader, Dolce Belleza, Mrs Carmichael, Curate’s Egg and Helen at A Gallimaufry – thanks so much Litlove!

Without further ado, here’s my answers to Litlove’s questions:

1. What do you think of literary prizes? Good idea or bad?

As someone relatively new to the whole organized literary scene (including lit blogs and review sites) I find myself wanting to sit on the fence with ‘Insufficient Data’ as the justified excuse! Having said that I do have an off-the-cuff response – as a reader my impulse is to say that literary prizes is a good idea.

I’m cognizant of the fact that like any other public honour a literary prize has a whole gamut of politics associated with it and that there are hundreds of other books out there perhaps more worthy of our attention. However, I see value in literary prizes as a way to discover new books. In so far as it’s a recommendation mechanism literary prizes expand the scope of my reading to include books and authors I might either have not come across or paid attention to. The bestowal of the prize itself does not necessarily predispose me to like the book in question. It’s just that as someone who loves to glom on books and is forever on the lookout to add more to her TBR, I find a certain usefulness to having literary prizes.

2. If you could write any sort of book, what would you write?

Ahh, definitely something that would uplift the reader. A work that would deal with the lives of ordinary men and women and bring out the poetry of everyday existence. Something that while delving deeper into the questions we come across in our daily lives also leaves a smile on the reader’s face. As I’m responding to this question I’m thinking that while I also love reading fantasy and stories that have grand sweeping adventures at their core, yet if I were to sit down and write I would want to explore more of our day to day lives.

3. Describe your ideal home library/study.

Here’s the features that my ideal library would be endowed with:

  • A big fireplace that one could lounge in front of while sighing through something comfortable
  • Ample lighting – both electronic and from the sun
  • A whole side taken up by french windows that would look out over a garden bursting with flowers across the year and at the shimmering blue of a lake or a river in the distance that would be ringed by mountains in the faint horizon
  • Shelves upon shelves of teak wood laden with books that would extend from my forehead to my waist – not an inch above nor an inch below
  • Sofas that one could burrow into and that would be scattered throughout the room
  • Window sills broad and comfortable enough to dawdle on as I think through bookish thoughts and jot them down on my laptop
  • And of course nooks and crannies that I could just lounge back against if I felt too lazy to scurry to one of the sofas!

4. Name two new authors whose work you think will last the test of time, and explain your choices.

I shall pass on this question as I feel woefully inadequate in answering it – I can’t think of anyone for whom I can say this and more than likely that’s because my repertoire and range of reading has been / is perhaps very limited.

5. Which books do you hope to get for Christmas?

Oh!! Here’s the best way to answer this question – My Amazon Wishlist!

6. What’s the last book you did not finish and why?

I am afflicted with complete-it-itis. The book has to be really really bad (think Fifty Shades of Grey bad) for me to give up on it. If nothing else just wanting to know how it all ends will compel me to reach the last page. Though if I dislike a book I do have the tendency to skip sections. The last book that I was racing through though had nothing to do with me not liking it. Rather it was my impatience to know what happens next. It was the Lymond Chronicles.

7. Would you accept 20 books that were absolutely perfect for you and dependably brilliant reads, if they were also the last 20 books you could ever acquire?

No! Who’s to say that a more brilliant and perfect read will not come out the very day after this duplicitous proposal!

Ok, so here’s my 7 questions!

1. Are you genre agnostic or do you read only specific genres? Why?

2. How and who started you on your love affair with the written word?

3. What were some of your favourite books as a tween and a teen?

4. Have you found your reading taste change across the years?

5. What’s your absolute favourite comfort read? Why?

6. Do you think a love for reading automatically leads to a love for writing as well?

7. What’s your favourite book/reading memory?

And here’s the blogs I’m tagging (though probably none of them are newish!):

The blog from Williamsburg Regional Library, Full Soul Ahead, Bookeywookey, The Sheila Variations, Belle from Miss Bookish

And of course anyone else who would fancy a go at these questions is more than welcome to them!

4 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. First of all, many many congratulations on getting married! I squealed with delight when I read your comment!! I hope you had a wonderful day and a perfect honeymoon.

    I love your answers here – your perfect library sounds absolutely delicious – I’m a sucker for a view out of a French window. I also think that you couldn’t possibly write anything that was NOT uplifting – it wouldn’t be in your nature! So I do hope you keep on writing in any way you wish. The more of your sort of writing out there, the better. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your best wishes on my marriage Litlove! I did have an amazing time and both my husband and I really enjoyed all the ceremonies and the rituals!

      You are so very very kind in your comment on the nature of my writing. Reading that really touched me and made my day. Thank you so much! I continue learning from you and hope that one day my writing reflects the grace, thoughtfulness and elegance that yours does.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Here a meme, there a meme, everywhere a meme meme or: I kissed a book, and I liked it | fullsoulahead.com

That’s what I’m thinking. I’d love to know *your* thoughts!

